bare humor

I can’t really explain why I find this so funny, but Garfield minus Garfield made me laugh out loud on every page for like five pages… It’s just somehow bizarre and pathetic and familiar enough to seem hilarious. Of course it could be that I haven’t eaten in 5 hours. Whatever. I give credit to the idea.

Speaking of funny, I saw Be Kind Rewind over the weekend. I found the beginning wonderfully funny, in a ridiculous, weird, random sort of way; the middle, where they remade the movies had some great moments too, and then the ending I found too soppy and sort of christmas storyish, though I guess perhaps the idea was that the movie and being the movie and remaking the movie were all interwoven in a way… so maybe it had to have a kind of hollywood ending if it was going to be a movie about movies in that way. Another interesting component was how there were really no love storylines in the plot, and in the beginning the 3 main characters all sit around talking about how the other two never seem to get any action. You can see potential interests, but no one really makes a move – is that a commentary too, somehow?

Tags: , ,

4 Responses to “bare humor”

  1. Nick Says:

    It’s not just you….GminusG was really funny.

  2. Barney Says:

    I find nothing funny at all when I’m happy. I have to be miserable before I can have a good laugh. And then, nothing can stop me. People like laughter and I’m surrounded by them when life is bad. Only problem is, with so many about, I don’t feel so miserable any longer and so eventually stop laughing and they go away. They don’t get far, though, before I start giggling again.

    So, yes, by all means, go without food. It’s a good way to make yourself laugh. I’m now in my third day of fasting and can’t stop breaking up whenever I picture his facial expression when he said, “Poof!” “She was there and then she was gone. Poof!” Food was there and now it’s gone. Poof! I look in the mirror and observe a Jim Davis-created, frazzled, decayed, craving dervish looking back at a cartoon famished character who was once I. Poof! I’m gone. And I just can’t stop laughing about it. And that’s all it took. People are starting to arrive, now, for my big imaginary party.

    I tell you, misery is the best way to go if you crave happiness. I think they’re really here, again. Life is of coming and going, simultaneously. Perhaps that’s why we laugh, because we see ourselves in passing and crave the company of a dear one, we so recently left behind and already miss.

    Poof!

    Barney the Would-be Clown

  3. Dennis Osborne Says:

    Anyone else tend to hear Gershwin’s ‘Rhapsody in Blue,’ when reading ‘Garfield?’

  4. lawn mower repair edmonton Says:

    Woah! I’m really loving the template/theme of this blog. It’s simple, yet effective.
    A lot of times it’s difficult to get that “perfect balance” between superb usability and visual appearance. I must say you’ve done a awesome job with this.
    Also, the blog loads very fast for me on Safari. Exceptional Blog!

Leave a Reply

