hyperbolic crochet coral reef

Well, this is a fascinating intersection of art and science, as well as an intriguing crosspoint between math and a typically female – for whatever reason – craft.

One can’t help wonder if the sort of second-rated, “girlyness” of an activity like knitting is simply due to sexism, as it seems clear on balance that it is as productive, as mathematical, as creative and as useful as something like carpentry, and yet carpentry is seen as a proper skill, while fabric arts are often seen as silly little hobbies. We need the blanket as much as the bedframe, the direct protection of clothing as much as the removed protection of walls, the flexible utility of cloth as much as the rigid (in this comparison – I realize it is quite flexible when compared with steel, eg) utility of wood. But we think of fabric as secondary and perhaps even in a way less real – a philosopher uses the tabletop to demonstrate the idea of common sense empiricism, not a scarf or a pair of socks.

Tags: , , ,

4 Responses to “hyperbolic crochet coral reef”

  1. rushmc Says:

    It is interesting that women have often been traditionally associated with the manufacture of more ephemeral products, as you note, and yet also with the greater ingrained desire to settle and “nest” (motives toward permanence) Or perhaps concern with more permanent construction, generally deemed masculine, is tied up with the impulse toward fortification (and by extension, defense and combat)?

  2. jessica Says:

    Hey Miranda,

    I’m not a big blog reader (I barely read my husband’s), but when he told me you blogged about knitting I had to check it out. I’m a huge huge knitter! And most knitters I know are female. But many, if not the majority of established, famous fiber artists are men – chew on that.

    Do you knit??? I assume you do, or crochet. I’ve been knitting for 17 years. I hate pre-made patterns so I make my own, and over time I’ve learned that there are certain absolutes to which I must adhere.

    I wish I could show you the planning entailed when I make a sweater. It’s very mathematical and involves a great deal of vision, anticipation of problems, consideration of the material I’m using, etc.

    Just like any construction project there’s the initial heavily intellectual planning, then once you get started it’s extremely mundane – the knitting and purling, the sawing of wood, the adding and dropping of stitches, the sanding, the finishing, the blocking, the steaming, the joining – some of the terms could almost be interchangeable.

    One gets into the fabulous zen of completing a well thought-out task and when obstacles arrive, your mentality is primed to be at its most creative and flexible to work its way around it.

    By the way, I also replaced part of the frame of the main doorway to my house. Perhaps it shouldn’t be so surprising that I had fun and success with that project as well.

    I should also mention that I am a veterinarian. I hope one day to be as fluid a surgeon as I am a knitter. For now, when the unexpected pops up in the ER, usually it’s accompanied by a healthy dose of panic. But surgery, carpentry or knitting shouldn’t be so different – and experts in auto mechanics and plumbing and pottery would also probably agree.

  3. Jenny Says:

    Where be letter? No like. I go then.

    Be sorry 2 disturb.

    Jenny

  4. http://tinyurl.com/freeford40953 Says:

    Exactly where did you actually pick up the recommendations to create ““hyperbolic crochet coral reef drink
    me”? Thanks for the post ,Trevor

Leave a Reply

