RNC, day 3

well, I think John McCain did just about as good a job as anyone could have expected. I knew all along this was going to be a tough fight, but I’m sure of it now.

The speakers before McCain were mostly annoying me; the exploitative 9-11 video practically made me want to punch someone in the face. But McCain himself was pretty compelling. He sounded sincere, he had good stories, and his policy suggestions were detailed and above all, in response to specific problems – in the same way that Bill Clinton sets up why we need to change certain policies. It makes the policy seem dynamic and interesting instead of just a laundry list of “stuff we’ll do”.

He stayed away from social conservative issues to a reasonable extent – a few euphemistic references, but not much god-talk or scary fundy stuff. Things started out a little slow, especially thanks to a couple protesters in the house that made it hard for him to get on track. But I really think by the end he had made a case for himself as a strong, reliable, common sense, straight-talker with an old-fashioned Teddy Roosevelt/Reagan conservatism. In contrast to that, Obama will look like a young kid who wrote some great memoirs… Now, I haven’t had a chance to see Obama’s O’Reilly appearance, and like I said before, these things are going to just go up and down constantly for the next two months, so…

I should be working on stuff completely unrelated. I already know where my vote’s going, in a totally non-swing state, so I don’t even know why I am so hooked on following this. But I can’t help being mesmerized, somehow.

Tags: , ,

Leave a Reply

