Is Palin a racist?

The LA Progressive claims that Sarah Palin said “So Sambo beat the bitch” after Obama won against Clinton in the primary. (Bleah I felt so dirty just typing that). I dunno, their sources aren’t all that reliable, and I only found the link on the Ralph Nader website, but that would be seriously messed up.

On the other hand, they’re claiming she’s sexist, when she’s a woman herself, and the first governor of her state, and not through a husband / father but by running for small time office up to larger office etc… though very likely due to being backed by someone’s money. Still, she went to all those “women governor” conferences, and appeared on charlie rose with a democratic woman governor… And her husband is supposed to be part eskimo… so maybe this is just people who hate her making her sound awful?

Or maybe she did say it and would think it was ok, “just a joke” – that’s what I’m most scared of, what the level of acceptable racism is in this country.

Maybe I’m just pessimistic, and things are better than I think. But I think I’m just being realistic.

Tags: , , ,

6 Responses to “Is Palin a racist?”

  1. rushmc Says:

    >>On the other hand, they’re claiming she’s sexist, when she’s a woman herself

    Are you suggesting that a woman cannot be sexist? Or simply that an accomplished woman can’t be? Either way, I’d want to see your argument for that…

    As to the quote (and allegations of a pattern), they don’t seem to be able to document it well enough for a game-ending play, and since the Democrats have demonstrated that they can’t get much traction with hint and innuendo–which is a Republican forte–I doubt this will do McCain or even Palin much harm. But, if true, it certainly adds to the very unpleasant picture that is emerging of Palin (wacky religious nut, book-burner, vindictive authoritarian, her economic irresponsibility, etc.).

  2. drinkme Says:

    I think it’s a bit hard to call an accomplished woman sexist, yeah. I mean, you just have to have a very specific notion of what counts as sexist… is it that she would believe stuff like women should always wear make-up or something? I dunno. “sexist” is hard enough to define to start with, but once you have a successful woman being called out for it, it becomes hard to say what’s really “sexism” and what’s just “mean” or personal style stuff or whatever… Like I said earlier, she did go to those conferences, and identify herself with “feminists for Life” and other pro-women organizations, so I don’t think she thinks she’s sexist. The McCain camp apparently thought she’d get women voting for him…

    I wonder why innuendo stuff doesn’t do republicans harm. Is it just that democrats don’t pass it around and get spooked by it? We’re too reasonable and notice too soon that there aren’t enough sources? Can things really be that lopsided?

    I hate election season; I just can’t tell anymore what is reasonable and what is crazy. Maybe this is wackjob shit or maybe it is a peek into the truth. That’s how I often feel reading the green party / democracy Now! stuff too. I don’t know if the answer’s at the fringe or the center. I guess it’s lucky Obama is sort of trying to be both! haha. I just hope he gets in; i’m pretty interested to see what his presidency would be like.

    One thing I am fascinated by is the idea that we could have a president that college students loved. Middle america loved Reagan, but college students hated him. Bill Clinton was loved by some college students, and maybe it was more than I knew since there was no internet at the time, and I went to a very fringy college that would probably hate Obama, so, who knows, I may be getting the wrong idea from the internet about how popular he is… (Nader is still getting big numbers)

  3. rushmc Says:

    >>so I don’t think she thinks she’s sexist.

    I hardly think we can use THAT as a criteria! I doubt Rush Limbaugh thinks he’s sexist either.

    >>The McCain camp apparently thought she’d get women voting for him…

    Again…the McCain camp thinks a LOT of crazy rot.

    I don’t know whether Palin is sexist either, but I do think that it is entirely possible, in theory, for a woman who has achieved within the business world or in government or on whatever platform you want to look at to hold viewpoints that are clearly sexist. Too many people (of both genders!) have the “do as I say, not as I do” position. In fact, it is conceivable that a woman might achieve in an arena where sexism is rampant precisely because she embraces those attitudes/values. Anyway, this veers offtrack…

    I haven’t seen the Nader numbers you cite. That would surprise me very much at this point. I don’t think I’ve seen his name in the media three times in the past year with regards to this election (and I scan a LOT of media). I thought most people who supported him in the past felt burned by Gore’s “losing,” and that Nader had been fading ever since.

  4. drinkme Says:

    >>I hardly think we can use THAT as a criteria! I doubt Rush Limbaugh thinks he’s sexist either.

    well, I meant she thinks she’s a feminist – I doubt Rush Limbaugh would claim that.

    >>I haven’t seen the Nader numbers you cite.

    I posted it earlier… here’s the link:
    http://www.votenader.org/blog/2008/08/27/time-cnn-poll/

  5. rushmc Says:

    Wow.

  6. Tessa Says:

    Karma certain catches up with Palin….
    Sarah Palin Slashed Special Needs Education by 62%

    For those of you who seem so enamored with Gov. Sarah Palin, it might be worth noting that she oversees the budget for the Department of Education and Early Development Special Schools in Alaska.
    These funds provide supplementary educational services to students with severe disabling conditions and the Alaska Challenge Youth Academy. The resident school where the child would normally be placed does not have the resources to provide an adequate educational program. Without the supplementary services the child’s needs would not be met by the local school district in most cases.
    The following programs are included within this component:
    Special Education Service Agency (SESA)

    The Annual budget for 2007, which preceded Gov. Palin was $8,265,300.

    http://www.gov.state.ak.us/

    The Annual budget for 2008, enacted by Gov. Palin is $3,156,000.

    http://www.gov.state.ak.us/

    The Annual budget for 2009, enacted by Gov. Palin is $3,156,000.

    http://www.gov.state.ak.us/

    This is a cut in special needs services to children in Alaska of 5,109,300 , or 62%.
    *********
    She’s no “advocate for the disabled.” Another lie???

Leave a Reply

